Local Chapters


Chapters and Parent Groups

There are two forms of local support groups within MCGT: chapters and parent groups.

Chapters, usually organized within a school district or region, provide opportunities to network, to share information, to work with the schools, to hear speakers on various gifted and talented issues, and to generate and promote enrichment activities for gifted children. Note that some chapters also have their own websites. The basic MCGT membership includes membership in one local chapter.

Parent groups are more fluid and informal than chapters. When an MCGT support group is first formed it is designated as a parent group. MCGT Parent Groups have two roles in the MCGT parent support structure. First, they serve as the starting point for new chapter development and, second, they allow families of gifted children to come together for support and sharing of information when a chapter is not a good fit. While some parent groups will choose to formalize their support group as a chapter (thus meeting all the chapter requirements) it is perfectly acceptable to continue as a parent group indefinitely if that format meets the needs of those involved. There is no fee for joining a parent group.

Active Chapters

Following is a alphabetical list of the active MCGT chapters followed by a list of Parent Groups. Use the email addresses listed to contact the chapter/parent group directly. If no email address is listed, contact the MCGT office at info@mcgt.net for more information. This list is updated regularly; please let us know if changes need to be made. The chapter emails below are managed by volunteers and checked periodically. If you haven’t received a response within seven (7) days, please direct your inquiry to info@mcgt.net or webmaster@mcgt.net.

Bloomington
Larry Frost
bloomington@mcgt.net

Burnsville
Carol Malueg
burnsville@mcgt.net

Crow River Region
Shari Colvin
crowriver@mcgt.net

Homeschool
http://mcgt.net/homeschool
Michelle Tanner
homeschool@mcgt.net

Minneapolis
Rebecca Kane
minneapolis@mcgt.net
http://mcgt.net/minneapolis/

Minnetonka (Minnetonka High Potential Parent Organization)
Karl Bunday
kmbunday@gmail.com

Prior Lake
http://mcgt.net/priorlake/
Apryl Henry
priorlakesavage@mcgt.net

Robbinsdale
Elizabeth Karges
robbinsdale@mcgt.net

Rochester
http://www.rochestergateway.com/
Ginny Amundson
Melissa Amundsen
rochester@mcgt.net

Rosemount/Apple Valley/Eagan (RAVE)
Katherine Geary
rosemountapplevalley@mcgt.net

St. Croix Valley
http://www.stcroixvalleygifted.net/
Margaret Thomas
stcroixvalley@mcgt.net

St. Paul
St. Paul-GRASP (Gifted Resource Alliance of St. Paul)
www.graspmn.org
Katie Sterns
stpaul@mcgt.net

Parent Groups

These groups are in various stages of development; some may be working towards becoming an MCGT chapter and others may plan to stay as a more informal parent group. If your geographic or interest area is here, contact the person listed. If you are interested in a parent group in another area, contact the MCGT office.

Duluth
Mary Ann Rotondi
duluth@mcgt.net

Eden Prairie
http://www.epcgt.org
Joe Wenc & Michelle Fourre
edenprairie@mcgt.net

Edina
Elizabeth Pillai
Amy Pampusch Olson
edina@mcgt.net

Highly Gifted
Ande Nesmith
highlygifted@mcgt.net

New Prague
Renee Bowman
newprague@mcgt.net

New Ulm
newulm@mcgt.net

Northfield
Krisi Lille
northfield@mcgt.net

Owatonna
owatonna@mcgt.net

Spring Lake Park
Mim Heggerston
springlakepark@mcgt.net

St. Anthony/New Brighton
Cathy Chun
stanthony@mcgt.net

Twice Exceptional
Deantha Menon
2e@mcgt.net