MCGT’s Friend of the Gifted Award

For more than 40 years, the Minnesota Council for the Gifted and Talented (MCGT) has presented its Friend of the Gifted Award. This annual recognition is given in appreciation to one or more parent, educator, administrator, citizen, or entity (such as an organization, agency, school, chapter, corporation) who has made a significant contribution to serving the needs of Minnesota’s gifted and talented young people in the nominee’s school, community, or the state. The award is announced and presented at the annual conference each fall. The chosen nominee(s) receive a certificate and a lifetime membership in MCGT.

Is there someone you would like to nominate to be a recipient? That person or organization should have made contributions which have helped the development of the gifts and talents of young people in Minnesota or heightened public awareness of their needs. Previous recipients will not be considered.

The nomination should include:

  • The nominee’s name, home address, city, state, zip, phone number, and email address.
  • A brief summary of why the nominee should receive the award, such as involvement in gifted education, including committees, projects and/or organizations participated in, and/or securing, developing, maintaining, enhancing, or supporting improved services for gifted and talented young people, and/or promoting awareness of the needs of gifted and talented young people in the school, community, or state.
  • Any other important information you would like to share about the nominee’s efforts on behalf of gifted and talented young people.
  • Your name and contact information (address, phone, email) as the nominator.

Nominations may be sent at any time to the MCGT office: [email protected] or 5701 Normandale Rd, Suite 315, Edina, MN 55424. Or you can use the easy online nomination form below.

Selection Process: After receiving nomination information, MCGT’s Board of Directors will then consider the nominees for award selection. The names of the nominees will be kept confidential.

Past Recipients of MCGT’s Friend of the Gifted Award:

2020 Carol Malueg

2019 Apryl Henry

2018 – no recipient, NAGC conference was in Minneapolis

2017 Betty Johnson Lifetime Achievement Award and the Announcement of the Betty Johnson Memorial Scholarship Fund

2016 Katherine Geary

2015 Tina Armstrong

2014 Joe Wenc

2013 Karen Westberg

2012 Judy Galbraith

2011 Jodi Summit

2010 Teresa Boatman

2009 Stuart Dansinger

2008 Marlys Henke, Lynn Norby

2007 Melissa Amundsen (NAGC Parent of the Year), Jane Keyes (NAGC Teacher of the Year)

2006 Dana Koletar

2005 Lucie Taylor

2004 Shari & Sam Colvin

2003 LynMarie Berntson & the Eden Prairie Chapter

2002 Steven Schroeder-Davis

2001 Sheila Ehrich

2000 Craig Kay

1998 Tom Greenspon

1991 Sarah Smith, Jan Sorell, Junior League of St. Paul, Jeanne Davis Pullen

1990 Ann Clapper, RAVE Support Group for the Gifted & Talented, Jane Holmberg, Joyce Junctune, Joel Anderson, Duluth Council for the Gifted & Talented

1989 Karen Rogers, Gayle and Jim Carlson, MCGT Edina Chapter

1988 Sandy Aubitz, Phylls Haensel, Ed Rimkus, Jacquelyn Saunders, MCGT Wayzata Chapter

1987 Lorraine Hertz, Lucie Taylor, Jostens Foundation (accepted by Julie Wanland), MCGT Anoka Chapter (accepted by Gary Campbell)

1985 Barbara Aslakson, Kay Fecke, Donna Turbes

1986 John Bowden, Shirley Christenson, Christopher Huber, Kathy Muellerleile, Quintin Pettigrew

1984 Betty Johnson, MEGT

powered by Typeform